Shared Drives, formerly called Team Drives, is a space where teams can easily store, search, and access their files anywhere, from any device. This space should never be used to share student data.
Unlike files in My Drive, files in Shared Drives belong to the team instead of the individual. Even when member leave the group, the files stay exactly where they are so your team can continue to share information and get work done. Anyone can create a new team drive and add members and set permissions. You can create folders, and add files just like in My Drive, or star important files to bring attention to them. You can restore files too, but full access permission is required to view the trash.
Any files you put in Shared Drives are automatically shared with members. However, you can also use Shared Drive files with people in your organization who aren’t members.
For more information, and some step by step instructions please visit – G Suite Learning Center – Shared Drives
Here is another example of Shared Drives in action from an Ed.Tech perspective.